January 15th

I didn’t celebrate my 40th Birthday as such, I was saving the party for this year as I’m 42 and a Hitch Hiker’s geek, but redundancy and the fact that I’m almost down to my last fiver have put paid to those plans.

My Birthday is the 8th. However the 15th January became notable for two (soon to be three) events. The Birthday of my best friend at School, Nigel Mather, the date in 1990 that I started my ‘career’ on the Railway, and now, in 2010, the day I’m going in to hospital to have my nose fixed.

I’ve never been able to breathe properly through my right nostril since I came of my bike and landed on my face just a few days before Sian Lewis’ 13th Birthday party in 1981. A party, incidentally, that I didn’t attend as my face was a mass of scabs. We failed to appreciate the underlying damage that had been caused to my beak, and didn’t attend Hospital with the injuries.

My Consultant believes it’s a factor in the issue I have with my left ear keep bunging up internally, so he’s offered to fix it.

The operation is scheduled for the afternoon of the 15th and I’m due for admission at around one o’clock. So what the hell am I doing working a night shift in Chatham, Kent? Well, you remember I said I was down to my last fiver…..?

Leave a comment